Title 153 - STATE FIRE MARSHAL

Chapter 6 - FEATURES OF FIRE PROTECTION

- 6-8. Guidelines for Fire Alarm Inspector Certification -- State Statute 28-1251.
 - 6-8111. Any qualified person shall, except as provided in subsection (8) below, receive certification for a "Fire Alarm Inspector's License" after proving qualifications set forth by the State Fire Marshal. Qualifications shall be proved by successfully completing a written examination which measures the applicant's technical knowledge for the ability to inspect fire alarm systems.
 - <u>6-8112</u>. Minimum age of an applicant for fire alarm inspector shall be 19 years of age.
 - <u>6-8113</u>. The fire alarm inspector's test shall be taken every four (4) years.
 - <u>6-8114</u>. Fire alarm inspector's certification will run four (4) years from date of issuance.
 - <u>6-8115</u>. The fire alarm inspector's testing fee of \$100.00 shall be sent in with an application or re-application to the State Fire Marshal's office in Lincoln, Nebraska at least three (3) days prior to the test.
 - <u>6-8116</u>. The fire alarm inspector's test shall be changed at least four (4) times per year by the State Fire Marshal.
 - <u>6-8117</u>. The fire alarm inspector's test shall be given monthly at different locations throughout the State. An applicant who has properly applied for the test may take the test unsuccessfully a maximum of two (2) times. After two unsuccessful attempts, the person must wait a minimum of six (6) months before re-applying for a fire alarm inspector certification. Any re-application must be accompanied with the \$100.00 fee.
 - 6-8118. The State Fire Marshal may deny an application for fire alarm inspector certification or revoke any fire alarm inspector's certificate for cause. Before any such denial or revocation, the State Fire Marshal shall give the affected individual notice and conduct a hearing pursuant to Chapter 84, Article 9 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes. Any person aggrieved by a decision of the State Fire Marshal may appeal such action pursuant to Chapter 84, Article 9 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes.
 - <u>6-8119</u>. The fire alarm inspector's test will be given by State Fire Marshal personnel and will be sent by State Fire Marshal personnel giving the test

to the State Fire Marshal's office in Lincoln, Nebraska for grading.

<u>6-81110</u>. The State Fire Marshal's office will grade the fire alarm inspector's test within two (2) weeks after date of test and send notification to fire alarm inspector applicants as to passing or failing of test. Certification will be issued upon obtaining an 80% passing grade on the fire alarm inspector's test. Such tests shall be kept in the custody of the State Fire Marshal and will not be open to public inspection.