Click to resize the text + -
Nebraska State Fire Marshal

Jim Heine, State Fire Marshal

Agency Overview

Create opportunity through more effective, more efficient, and customer focused State Government.


The Fire Marshal’s office was organized on April 3, 1909 by a legislative act known as the Fire Commission Law. A. U. Johnson was appointed as the first State Fire Marshal. He had a staff of two deputies. Over the years the duties of the SFM office have evolved from safety inspections and fire investigations to include natural gas pipeline safety, aboveground and underground storage tank regulation, emergency responder training, hazardous materials response, fireworks licensing, fire alarm inspector licensing, building plan reviews and enforcement of accessibility guidelines. Today the State Fire Marshal is Jim Heine who oversees 67 employees assigned to one of six divisions – Administrative, Enforcement, Investigations, Fuels Safety, Plans Review and Training.


  • The Administrative Division is comprised of the Fire Marshal, Assistant State Fire Marshal, Business Manager, Legal Counsel, Fire Prevention Officer and the support staff. The Division is responsible for providing administrative leadership and clerical support to maintain and operate the Agency.
  • The Enforcement Division consists of three districts each supervised by a District Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal. Deputies assigned to these districts perform various inspections for life safety and investigate fires in accordance with agency policy.
  • The Investigations Division is made up of a Chief Deputy State Fire Marshal and seven investigators who are also certified law enforcement. Two investigators are also certified K-9 handlers. The Division’s responsibilities are the investigation of fires and the enforcement of State arson statutes in accordance with agency policy.
  • The Fuels Safety Division is divided into two sections – the Flammable Liquids Storage Tank (FLST) section and the Pipeline Safety section. The Pipeline Safety deputies enforce the Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act of 1969. The FLST section enforces the Hazardous Substance Storage and Handling Act of 1986.
  • The Plans Review Division is responsible for the review of plans for compliance with fire and accessibility codes, coordination of enforcement with the delegated authority cities and general code enforcement.
  • The Training Division operates a statewide training program for emergency responders. The Division is made up of a Manager, six Training Specialists, an Administrative Assistant and several part-time instructors.