Click to resize the text + -
Nebraska State Fire Marshal

Jim Heine, State Fire Marshal

Public Fireworks Displays

Public fireworks displays may be held anytime throughout the year. A Public Fireworks Display Permit application must be received in this office at least 10 business days prior to the date of the display. If only Class C fireworks will be shot, a permit is not necessary. A licensed Public Display Operator must be present at the display and supervise those discharging the display (Class B) fireworks. The local fire chief or his/her representative must also review and sign the permit. A $10 non-refundable fee is assessed for each display. A permit must be obtained for each date of a display (except rain date) and the appropriate fee paid for each display.

The permit application may be completed online. Beginning in 2013, the only method to submit applications will be online. This will decrease processing time. Notification of permit approval will be given to the person/organization listed as the sponsor on the application.

State Fire Marshal personnel will periodically conduct unannounced inspections of display sites to insure regulations are being followed and the information provided on the permit application is accurate.

Applicants are subject to all provisions of State Statutes and regulations governing fireworks. It is the applicant’s responsibility to read and comply with these requirements.

 

Online Application

When using the online application, payment must be made with a credit card, debit card, or electronic check. Charges will appear on your account when your application is approved. The screens are self-explanatory. Please read all instructions on each screen carefully. After you have completed the application, you will have the opportunity to edit all information.

The Public Display Operator information must match exactly what appears in our database. If the Operator’s license has expired you will not be allowed to proceed. Multiple distributors/jobbers may be selected. Please refer to the instructions in the application as to the correct way to make your selection(s). Distances must be entered in feet.

Before submitting the online Public Display Permit Application to the State Fire Marshal's Office the Operator/Applicant shall contact the local fire chief or his/her representatives and receive verbal permission for the display to take place. When this verbal permission is received the Operator/Applicant shall submit the completed electronic Public Display Application to the State Fire Marshal's Office. Operator/Applicant shall have the local fire chief or his/her representatives sign the Approved Public Display Permit. The Operator/Applicant shall keep the signed Approved Public Display Permit on his/her person at the display and present it if a State Fire Marshal requests proof of an Approved Public Display Permit. Under Nebraska law, anyone who knowingly provides false information on this application may be found guilty of a Class I misdemeanor.

If your application is accepted, an email will be sent to you advising this. If your application is declined an email will be sent informing you of the reason.

 

PLEASE NOTE: You may not legally purchase or have fireworks in your possession until you receive the approved Display Permit.

Again, please go slowly through the screens and read all instructions.